To Gimpy Law Readers, An Explanation

I realize that I have not updated in some time. I just found out that Gimpy Law has been nominated for The Expert Institute’s Best Legal Blogs. I had no idea that such a competition existed. I am very curious who made the nomination. Thanks very much to whoever you are.

I do feel that I owe Gimpy Law readers an explanation for my absence from posting. I have been keeping busy, having just been appointed as the Co-Chair of the Attorneys with Disabilities Committee for the Women’s Bar Association of Illinois and a member of the Statewide Independent Living Council of Illinois. Also, in addition to traveling a lot for legal conferences, I have been putting out fires for officially launching my law practice, Disability Law Collective. It has been a little over a year since I started my legal incubator program and I haven’t officially launched yet. I know that this seems strange, considering I have friends who set up their law practices much quickly (like in a week); everyone has their own pace.

It seems like every time I try to launch, something goes wrong… major website malfunctions and redevelopment, office inaccessibility, taking better care of my health, pulling my hair out about my non-profit housing cooperative—Able Community, and worrying about finding clients (as my Torts and Civil Rights Professor described herself, I too am a chronic worrier). I’ll spare you all the boring details. I am not sure if I am overreacting, but I became discouraged that I have to face more hurdles than my peers without disabilities. I mean I usually don’t feel bad about myself or my disability and I never throw myself a pity party, but the totality of the circumstances triggered it.

The Thinker, a sculpture by Auguste Rodin, shows a nude male figure of over life-size sitting on a rock with his chin resting on one hand as though deep in thought. This picture is from this museum's website, Musee Rodin.

The Thinker, a sculpture by Auguste Rodin, shows a nude male figure of over life-size sitting on a rock with his chin resting on one hand as though deep in thought. This picture is from this museum’s website, Musee Rodin, in Paris.

Although I am accepting clients, I would like to get all of my ducks in a row before I officially launch. But I am pleased to announce that I am very close to launching Disability Law Collective. I have been working on legally substantive blog posts that I have been saving for closer to my launch. I’m not sure if this will change Gimpy Law’s readership, but I still plan to mix in posts about social issues.

In short, to be continued. Please stay tuned.

Leave a Reply

